lemon ricotta pancakes

I am so feeling like Cinderella after the clock struck midnight.  Was it really just 10 days ago that I was in New York City for a friend’s birthday with Husband, spending his hard-earned Starwood points for a night at the St. Regis, where rooms come complete with a butler?  Yes, I said butler.  I know – even I want to roll my eyes right now.  But let me just tell you about him.  At first, I thought, what utter foolishness – I’ll hang my own clothes, thankyouverymuch, and please just point me in the direction of the nearest Starbucks for that coffee.  But then he brought cookies as we were preparing for our evening out.  And then he took Husband’s shoes to be polished and my dress (which I’d packed thoughtfully in a duffel bag, of course) to be steamed.  And when we arrived back, the bed was turned down, classical music was playing, and – best of all – the bathroom that I had left looking like the morning after a tween slumber party was neat and tidy, and smelled of lavender.  Ohmigod, I loved the butler. Then I returned home, where even while I sleep (or try to sleep) I hear the words “Mommy, can I have …” and “Mommy, do this …” And I realized that that must be why my family (particularly my children) love me:  I am the butler. Well, hell.

C’est la vie.  Back to the fact that we were in New York for that fun and luxurious 20 hours.  The first thing we did when we arrived was meet up with one of Husband’s college roommates, whom we’d not seen in far too long, who (along with his wife) keeps much too busy being a doctor, and who (again, along with his wife) is soon expecting their first child.  We had lots to catch up on, and little time to do it.  Because he was coming from  way uptown and we were sticking close to our home base – and because my name is Beth – Doc suggested the brunchy bastion that is Sarabeth’s.  I was thrilled – 2:30 is my ideal time for brunch, especially the sweet kind.  So, while the boys noshed on sandwiches that required fork and knife, I happily devoured the delicate, delicious ricotta pancakes on offer.

They stuck with me – lemon things do that.  And when I found myself with a half of a container of ricotta left over from making the meat-free version of last weekend’s cannelloni, I knew that lemon ricotta pancakes were its fate.  With a little help from Google, and making do with what I had in the fridge, I produced these.  And, while they didn’t have the experience-enhancer of having been made by someone other than myself, I’d almost say that they were more lemony and moist than the ones I’d had at brunch.  Sure, The Lad shunned these in favor of the frozen Eggo pancakes, but, for me, these pancakes will be my version of the lone glass slipper that remained after the ball …

Lemon Ricotta Pancakes
(adapted from Recipeleased)

2/3 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons melted butter
3 egg yolks, separated
3/4 cup ricotta cheese (preferably whole milk)
1/4 cup milk
1/3 cup sugar
the juice and zest of one lemon

Preheat oven to 200-degrees F.

In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  In a medium sized mixing bowl, combine the melted butter, egg yolks, ricotta, milk, sugar, lemon zest and lemon juice.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, stirring until combined and mostly smooth, but being careful not to over-mix.  Set aside.

In a separate bowl, beat the 3 egg whites until they form stiff peaks, then gently fold them into the batter.

Working in batches, spoon batter by 1/4 cupfuls onto a greased (or nonstick) griddle.  Turn the pancakes when bubbles start to pop and edges brown.  Keep cooked pancakes warm on a plate in the oven while you finish using the batter.  Serve as soon as you can with butter, syrup and blackberries (as I did), or with powdered sugar, other fresh berries, fruit preserves, or a berry sauce.

Leave a Reply

