chocolate cookies with white chocolate chunks

My sisters are both avid runners; Husband can be an avid runner, when he’s not stuck in boardrooms and cubicles and dinner meetings and midwestern hotels.  I admire runners, for they are more committed than I.

So, I am not a runner.  Or, at least, I had not been, and I don’t even know if I strive to be.  Generally speaking, I’ve always thought that running – in my case – should be reserved for when one is being chased.

But it turns out I am being chased.  By things like these cookies, which are crispy at the edges and chewy in the middle, which are dense chocolate goodness studded with creamy white chocolate, which call to me so much more than a bowl of cereal in the morning, and which seem so perfect after a savory dinner. 

So, I’m running; not so that things like these cookies won’t catch me, but so I can not care when they do.  Talk about a sweet reward for miles covered.


Chocolate Cookies with White Chocolate Chunks

(Makes about 3 dozen, adapted from The Barefoot Contessa)

2 sticks (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 extra-large eggs
2/3 cup good unsweetened cocoa powder (I like Valrhona or Ghiardelli)
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 pound good white chocolate, chopped, or 1 1/2 bags of white chocolate chips (both the 365 brand and Ghiardelli have these)

Preheat the oven to 350-degrees F.

Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.

In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter and 2 sugars until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla, then the eggs (one at a time) and mix well, scraping down the sides of the bowl. With the mixer on low, slowly add the cocoa/flour mixture to the butter mixture and mix until just combined. Fold in the white chocolate chunks.

Drop the dough on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, using a 1 3/4-inch ice cream scoop or a rounded tablespoon. Dampen your hands and flatten the dough slightly. Bake for exactly 15 minutes- taking the cookies out even if they seem underdone.

Cool slightly on the pan, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

