a rose is a rose? a survey.

This blog began as an experiment, a whim by which to while away winter.  I thought only perfunctorily about a name, and – as any of you who follow me on Facebook have noticed – have yet to devise a logo.  Now that I’m six months in, and still enjoying it, and seem to have readers who still enjoy it, it occurs to me that I should start taking it more seriously.

A while back, a friend, who is both a branding professional and a very honest gal with perspective I respect, suggested that “On My Kitchen Window Sill” was a bit of an obscure mouthful.  She generously offered up her time, and that of her colleagues, and came up with a list of twenty other handles that might work.  Several of them, or their variants, were taken already, but these are some that piqued my interest.  I’m not committed to changing my online identity, but I’m curious as to your opinion.

Do any of these speak to you? Do you have ideas of your own? Should I embrace my winter whim and focus on finding a logo and expanding the existing brand?  Let me know!

2 comments
  1. lou said:

    Hi!

    You know I LOVE you and your blog, but I don’t like ANY of these better than what you have.

    Pink Apron– oh please please don’t name something the “pink” anything. (A) Breast cancer and (B) Too often people belittle cooking as “women’s work.” The apron is already pink. And you’re not a girly girl like that suggests.

    Pot & Pantry sounds like a cook’s catalogue. Way too nuts & bolts for your elegant blog with the stunning photography.

    Apron Strings stresses your mom-hood. But this isn’t a blog about feeding your kids or even kid-friendly food necessarily.

    A Simple Twist should be about cocktails.

    I believe your PR friends when they say the name is too long. But your original name is far more interesting than this list.

    Jas says you should find a name that stresses the narrative nature of your blog.

    Has “Kitchen Window” been taken? It’s like we’re getting a peek into your life. And it’s close to your original name.

    xo
    M

  2. John Anderson said:

    The web is filled with people whose ‘blogs are short, catchy names. Yours stands out from the crowd because of it’s name. I’d keep the original name.

Leave a Reply

